Book Review: Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough

behindhereyesdivider2synopsis

Louise is a single mom, a secretary, stuck in a modern-day rut. On a rare night out, she meets a man in a bar and sparks fly. Though he leaves after they kiss, she’s thrilled she finally connected with someone.

When Louise arrives at work on Monday, she meets her new boss, David. The man from the bar. The very married man from the bar…who says the kiss was a terrible mistake but who still can’t keep his eyes off Louise.

And then Louise bumps into Adele, who’s new to town and in need of a friend, but she also just happens to be married to David. David and Adele look like the picture-perfect husband and wife, but then why is David so controlling, and why is Adele so scared of him?

As Louise is drawn into David and Adele’s orbit, she uncovers more puzzling questions than answers. The only thing that is crystal clear is that something in this marriage is very, very wrong, but Louise can’t guess how wrong―and how far a person might go to protect their marriage’s secrets.

Credits to Goodreads.com

rating-and-review

4.5/5 ⭐s

So the first thing that caught my attention about this book is EVERY REVIEW I FREAKING READ says the ending is “totally” unexpected. Okay, I’m actually nervous about that because in the back of my mind, I fear that this book might be a little overrated. So I didn’t set my expectations too high, I don’t want to be overly disappointed too in the end BUT boy oh boy – this book! I live for this!

I don’t want to dive in so well into details because that defeats the purpose of me recommending this book to you so we just go into basic ones. First the characters, haha I’m already smiling like an idiot while typing this – here’s the thing: I’m a very easily annoyed person, haha, I don’t show it as much but I get VERY easily irritated by lead characters. Hahaha I swear, even for books that I end up loving, I can’t help being annoyed by the main characters at some point. I am a notorious MC hater. LOL. Anyway, this book is NO exception. One of the characters here annoyed me so much my head hurts. But I guess if it weren’t for this character’s stupidity, then we won’t have an amazing plot here so I was quite okay with that. It didn’t bother so much as how The Girl on the Train did (God I hated it – the MC anyway, I gave away my copy. lol)

Next, exchanging POVs – I adore this kind of style. I love it that I get to see sides other than one continuous telling of stories. This actually helped me calm down when I am so irritated with one of the characters. Which is disturbing at some point, like – I can’t be rooting for someone who is ‘obviously’ the bad guy, but f*% it, i’m weird like that.

My only issue while reading this book that made me give it less than half a star is because it took a little while before I am fully absorbed in the story. I read it like a few days ago and wasn’t very enthusiastic as it didn’t leave a POW effect on me. Turns out I just had to have patience – it all went crazy (good crazy) just a few chapters in. I also had a VERY slight impression that this is Gone Girl all over again – but I guess you have to see for yourself. 🙂

All in all, this is a very compulsive, absorbing, exciting and chilling read! I can’t recommend it enough for people who loves a good shock – because this one DEFINITELY has that! I was literally speechless after reading that ending. TOTALLY SHOOK. 😳  I do have a bit of a worry though for people who gets irked by a certain kind of genre – which was unexpected here. I don’t want to reveal though, I just hope you keep reading, it’s worth it!

Thank you again to Book of the Month for sending me this! It’s one of their February selections and I almost always end up loving their picks. 👍 You can still get Feb selections (this book included) on their website!

Till next book!

nikkidivider-3

 

 

One thought on “Book Review: Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough

Leave a Reply

