Book Review: The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

thousandthdivider2synopsis

NEW YORK CITY AS YOU’VE NEVER SEEN IT BEFORE.

A thousand-story tower stretching into the sky. A glittering vision of the future where anything is possible—if you want it enough.

WELCOME TO MANHATTAN, 2118.

A hundred years in the future, New York is a city of innovation and dreams. Everyone there wants something…and everyone has something to lose.

LEDA COLE’s flawless exterior belies a secret addiction—to a drug she never should have tried and a boy she never should have touched.

ERIS DODD-RADSON’s beautiful, carefree life falls to pieces when a heartbreaking betrayal tears her family apart.

RYLIN MYERS’s job on one of the highest floors sweeps her into a world—and a romance—she never imagined…but will this new life cost Rylin her old one?

WATT BAKRADI is a tech genius with a secret: he knows everything about everyone. But when he’s hired to spy for an upper-floor girl, he finds himself caught up in a complicated web of lies.

And living above everyone else on the thousandth floor is AVERY FULLER, the girl genetically designed to be perfect. The girl who seems to have it all—yet is tormented by the one thing she can never have.

Amid breathtaking advancement and high-tech luxury, five teenagers struggle to find their place at the top of the world. But when you’re this high up, there’s nowhere to go but down….

Credits to Goodreads.com

rating-and-review

3/5 ⭐s

I’ve heard a lot of comments that this book is kinda like Gossip Girl meets Pretty Little Liars and uhm… I don’t freaking know what that means. HAHAHA, sorry I am probably the only human in this planet who haven’t watched those shows. But yeah, if you happen to be a fan of those then this book will most likely interests you – I can’t say much about that though.

So this is what happened to New York a century later and people are living vertically – literally, in a tower with a thousand floors. In this world, the higher the floor you live in, the better life you have. The story revolves around 5 teens who all have their own problems and challenges despite the differences in their life statuses.

Let’s begin with the things I liked about this book: 

It is an easy read, I love multiple POVs so in some who will find this annoying, I actually enjoyed it.

The choice of characters I like because they are diverse. We get to see different races and ethnicity, sexual orientation and/or gender identity. I appreciate that unlike most YA books we’ve had in the past that concentrates on caucasian lead characters and straight people,  this book bended that ideology – BUT… (we’ll continue later)

That page turner and cannot-DNF-this thing-because-I-need-to-know-who-DIED vibe. No spoilers intended there because it is in the Prologue of the book – and yes someone somehow managed to fall from the top of that Tower and I needed to know who that is.

The living in the Tower thing is something that I have never read on any books before so that is definitely a good thing for me. The idea is unique as it is original.

 

Now, on to the things I didn’t like so much:

…Yes the characters were diverse but I do want to see more of that than just… THAT. I just felt like they were made as such that without much thought, I wanted them to have more sense and substance – well I think this is a challenge in diversifying characters. I just hope the next book will improve on this.

I know I said I like the choice of characters but it doesn’t necessarily meant that I have loved any of them. lol. I just find the connection lacking and I find it hard to relate to any of them – the problems were shallow, the exchanges in between characters aren’t so memorable, almost all of them were annoying.. it just didn’t hit me where it should have. I cannot name a single favorite character and that’s obviously not a nice thing.

The incest, OMG. If you know me and have read a bit of my reviews from the past, you would know how much Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma irked me. I’m just really not comfortable reading that kind of stuff. And what I also did not like is that it is trying to justify the “affection” for the sibling because they aren’t related by blood. I don’t really care about that, brother or step brother is STILL a freaking brother – and NO, I don’t find that romantic at all.

This book indeed ended with a cliffhanger but unfortunately, I wasn’t very excited for it. I mean yeah, that caught me a little off guard, like I really wasn’t expecting it to have a sequel in the first place, lol. But yeah, I do think I’d like to know what happens next but I’m not head over heels for it.

 

And that is it! I’d recommend this book if you like futuristic, unique plot line reads. Let me know your thoughts if you’ve read it! Yay or Nay? 🙂

Talk to you soon!

nikkidivider-3

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

  1. That was so helpful! I was thinking about buying this book, but I wasn’t sure about it. Now i know i’m gonna buy it next time i see it! Awesome post!

    Like

  2. I definitely agree with the part about the characters’ problems being shallow. That was what bothered me the most about the book. It was also a bit too dramatic for my taste. It made me want to read on and find out what happens next, but was all that drama really necessary?

    Like

Leave a Reply

