Pick a favorite: Agatha Christie Book PART 2!

agathadivider2

Hello guys! If you are new to my blog or isn’t following me on Instagram, then let me just tell you that Agatha is my queen! So as tribute to her great works of literature, I have made a segment on my blog wherein I write a mini review of her books and “pick a favorite” out of those novels i’ve read to help you decide which AC book to read (if you haven’t tried one yet).

See my first Pick a Favorite AC here.

I will be giving mini review/reaction post on two of her books and then decide in the end which one I liked better. The two books that I have for you now are:

  • The Murder of Roger Ackroyd (Hercule Poirot #4)
  • The Big Four (Hercule Poirot #5)

Without any more delays, let’s get to it!

divider4roger

roger2

This book is another of Hercule Poirot’s Mystery. Poirot is a Belgian detective whose wit and clever ways have gained the trust of many in solving hard and even impossible mysteries. In this particular story however, Poirot has retired. He is now living a discreet life and spending his days gardening in the village of King’s Abbot where a death of a widow sparks rumors that she murders her own husband. She was being blackmailed for this and not only that, she is also having a secret affair with the wealthiest man in King’s Abbot – Mr. Roger Ackroyd. The following evening after the widow died, Ackroyd was murdered in his own study. The latter’s niece sought the help of Poirot to find out who really killed his uncle and it is now up to Poirot to find out who did it and why.

I fear my words on this one because I strongly DO NOT WANT to spoil this masterpiece for you. OKAY. This book is just WOW. OMG, WOW. I can’t even begin to tell you how freakingly SHOCKED I was after reading this. This is one of Christies TOP book for a goddamn reason! (sorry for swearing). I hope you will be one with me when I say that I WOULD’VE NEVER guessed how will this book could’ve ended. It’s crazy dude, I just want to re-read it again to see if i’ll have a different reaction but author got mad skills for pulling this off. Absolutely one of the best! This feels – it’s Agatha Christie feels!

divider4bigfour

big42 In this particular story, Poirot is facing an organization who stands in the name of “Number 4” whose purpose is to post an anarchy and rule the world – or that sort of thing. Poirot desperately wants to find out who is behind this big group while the Big Four is also decided to keep Poirot out of their way – whatever or WHOever it takes.

Okay, you know by now how much I love Agatha but this particular book, well I am not so sold. I mean I adoooooooore the character of Poirot and I still did enjoy reading all about his funny little erratic ways of solving whatever puzzle there is in this book, but this story is somehow different than the rest I’ve read from Christie. Yes, it still has that charm, that page-turning-I-can’t-stop-till-I-know-who-did-it kind of vibe is still there that’s for sure, but the overall plot of this book had me wondering WHY this book is kinda different. I feel like Poirot here is some kind of a man stopping big evil villains and that particular style is probably not for me, or YET at least. I assure you though that there are still elements of surprise and crazy twists because Christie never fails on that. Still a far cry better book than most half bake mystery novels out there – it just wasn’t what I was expecting. divider2verdict

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd:    5/5 ⭐s

The Big Four:   3.5/5 ⭐s

I couldn’t have made it more obvious right? 😁  Winner is THE MURDER OF ROGER ACKROYD by a mile!

Definitely, absolutely, most surely recommended! Love every minute of it and I hope you will too!

Till next Pick a favorite, I’ll try to make it not as obvious. lol.

Talk to you soon! ❤

nikkidivider-3

Leave a Reply

