My Top 10 Books of 2016

11

I know, I know, we’re almost done with the first month of 2017 and I am only posting this today. But it’s here either way so let’s rejoice! 😀 I asked on my Instagram account which topic you’d like to see here as a “year-ender” and this is one of the most highly requested. So let’s get to it!divider2

NOTE! Let me just tell you that the arrangement of these books are in no particular order, I will put something for last though because of different reasons, but know that I have enjoyed ALL books that are mentioned here a LOT. I will also leave a link for reviews I’ve made (if I’ve made any) for items on this list.

Here we go…

daisy

1

4

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness left me so emotional. I wasn’t expecting it, but it tore me apart, gave me the worst heartbreak I had from a book in a while. I am literally in love with the sadness and the sight of hope of this book. Utterly beautiful! (see review here)

daisy

2

5

Another book that I enjoyed reading last year is Uprooted! It was like an adult fairy tale and it was so magical that it made me all giddy and happy. Definitely recommended for fans of modern day classics! (see review here)daisy

3

8

I didn’t expect at all to like The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater but holy gods I actually did! It was something different with it’s urban fantasy vibe and paranormal romance and the excellent way of the author’s storytelling. Superb! (see review here)

daisy

4

6

Another book that blew me away last year is Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie. This was my first novel from Christie and it did not disappoint! I was extremely impressed and is the reason now why I am a die hard AC addict. lol (see review here)

daisy

5

9

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes is a book that I know will break my heart – so I expected it wouldn’t hurt as much, but f*ck it – IT STILL DID! Big time. It was one of those books that will leave you staring at the ceiling on hours end wondering, WHAT THE HELL DID I DO TO MYSELF. So bad yet so goooood! (see review here)

daisy

6

10

I may be biased because I loooooove Cormoran Strike novels- I love Cormoran Strike period. I immensely enjoyed Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith (J.K. Rowling) because unlike other crime/mystery/thriller novels, where I always end up guessing which one is the killer, but here, I have no idea and it freaking excite me! I was nervous, anxious, emotional, etc. Rowling is just really a genius! Hands down! (see review here)

daisy

7

1

This I am going to tell you: there is nothing like Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff! Man this book is amazing! It was unconventional, so futuristic – so different! I enjoyed every f***ing minute when I was reading it. Loved it!! (see review here)

daisy

8

3

The Secret History by Donna Tartt is NOT an easy read –  that I am telling you. It will take getting used to but holy sh*t this book is insane! You can’t help but feel an emotional attachment to the characters even after the evilness they slipped in to. It was twisted, dark and crazy that will keep you turning the pages for more. My first of Tartt but definitely not the last! (sorry no review yet, will do so in a few days so come back! :D)

daisy

9

2

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie is to date my most favorite AC book. This 200+ pages of a book blew my mind in many different ways! Agatha is absolutely the Queen of Mystery! I have never freaking guessed who is killing who in any of her books and this book is in the peak of it! Totally surprising, so intelligently written! The one thing that you would like to do after reading it is to read it again. SO SO GOOD. Does it even surprise you that I have 2 Christie books in this list, you shouldn’t be. She’s something else! (see review here)

daisy

10

7

Okay so there’s a reason that this might seem odd to include this here – and it is because I haven’t finished it yet. Yes, I haven’t. I’ve contemplated a lot if I will put this here, I almost didn’t but I felt bad for not doing so because this book is just really beautiful. I did had some share of reasons for putting it off of my reading list for a few months but I promised myself to get back to it when I am ready for it. You see, I wanted to read it during the time that I will most appreciate it’s beauty. I came to a point where I am reading several books at once while reading this and it just didn’t seem right. I am more than half way, probably 200+ pages more left (it’s 700+ paged) and I want to continue with it again when I know it’s time. I just felt it won’t be fair for this book not to be listed here when it’s absolutely one of the best books I’ve ever read last year. So yeah, obviously no review yet but I will when I’m done. Be patient with me. 🙂

daisy

And there you have it! My Top 10 Books of 2016! Let me know if we had something in common so we can fangirl together! Feels so good to be in this blog again! Talk to you again soon! Bye!

nikkidivider-3

 

One thought on “My Top 10 Books of 2016

  1. I just added Patrick Rothfuss to my tbr list because I’ve seen his name so many times this past few days. I tried reading The Raven Boys a few times and just couldn’t get into it but I want to read it again soon and give it another chance – I really want to like it! I hate feeling left out when everyone loves a series 😦

    Nihaad | Read & Seek

    Like

Leave a Reply

