How to start Calligraphy

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

Hello everyone! I’ve been absent for far too long, and to make it up for you, I’ll be doing the probably one of the most requested topic on my Instagram: A Calligraphy for beginners post!

Uhm, okay before we start – DISCLAIMER! I am not an expert in calligraphy you guys! I have not in my whole life attended any learning sessions, or seminars or trainings for lettering and calligraphy. All that I know now are either self taught or tips I saw fromΒ professional calligraphers across social media platforms. So yeah, with that said, let’s get to it!divider2

1

So WHY do you want to start learning Calligraphy? Is this your passion? Is this a hobby you want to learn? Is it because everyone’s been doing it and you want to try it out for yourself? No matter what your reasons are, what’s important is this keeps you MOTIVATED. I’ve seen a few people quit trying calligraphy because they’ve felt like they don’t get any better. Tell you what, I’ve been there, done that. Although to be perfectly honest with you, I was indeed quite blessed with a decent handwriting, but that doesn’t warrant you to be a good calligrapher. You have to have patience, perseverance, and drive if you want to continue doing the art of letters!divider2

2

What TOOLS should one have in order to startΒ calligraphy?Β YOU ONLY NEED A PENCIL to learn the basics – that I am telling you. Buying every available tools you see that calligraphers use is probably not a good idea, in fact, it is one of the most common mistakes some of us make. We buy tools we DO NOT know how to use and end up damaging it, or worse leave us more unmotivated to continue with calligraphy. So NO – do not buy everything all at once. Start with what you have at home πŸ™‚ In my case, I started with a Mongol pencil πŸ˜€

Keep scrolling though because I showed a few pens I used for practice writing. πŸ™‚divider2

3

Now let’s get down to business, let’s do the drills!

First drill is the UPSTROKES. Upstrokes are light and by the name itself, you start writing from the bottom then make your way up – in a light manner:

*by the way excuse the audio haha.Β 

divider2

Second drill is the DOWNSTROKES. Β This is the exact opposite of the first drill. You start your pen on top all the way downward in a heavy manner:

divider2

Third drill is combining the first two drills – Upstroke + downstroke, in that order. So your hand pressure will now move from light to heavy – Β which to be honest isn’t very hard:

divider2

Fourth drill is more of a challenge for others because it’s the opposite of the third drill – meaning your hand pressure will shift from heavy to light:

divider2

Fifth drill is probably the hardest because you have to do the third and fourth drills continuously now, which is a bit confusing for beginners. But you’ll get there, just keep on doing it and you’ll go with the flow eventually:

*sorry for the erasures, I thought I recorded the first run but no. So I had to erase are record ‘again’

divider2

A little extra drill that I do is the repeating loops. It isn’t exactly necessary for beginner drills but it it’ll help you much better with controlling hand pressure:

*the video is wiggly at this point, my drills wasn’t perfect too –Β it’s really hard videoing yourself while writing, you know lol.

divider2

4

And just like a new born baby, we all have our firsts. Lol. After your drills, you are now ready to start writing your first word. I believe the most commonly practiced word for calligraphy is the word “MINIMUM” because of the constant exchange of up and down strokes:

Apologies for those annoying little strands of hair – didn’t noticed it while recording. Anyway, that is it. here’s a few pens you might want to consider after you’ve practiced (hard enough) your drills:

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset
Drawing pens have round like tips and is good for practice.

 

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset
Felt tip “brush” pens are perfect for those starting calligraphy because it’s firmer than real brushes – which makes it more suitable for practice writing. Try using this with the drills!

 

Real brush pens and inks, I suggest you try using when you are confident with your felt tips already. Real brushes require more control with pressures.
Real brush pens and inks, I suggest you try using when you are confident with your felt tips already. Real brushes require more control with pressures.

divider2

5

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

There you have it! I hope you learned a thing or two in this blog post. I’ll be sure to come back with follow up exercises and sample videos for you to watch!

Just remember to keep practicing and don’t lose your drive. Nobody started an expert. Each and everyone of us had to start from the beginning and believe me, it will all be worth it when the time comes that you’ll see your progress. Okay? So grab your pens now and start writing!

Ciao!

nikkiPost-Divider

6 thoughts on “How to start Calligraphy

  1. Thank you sooooo much for this post! It’s helpful and I really want to learn calligraphy as a new hobby. By the way, where can I get that grip paper/notebook? Thanks again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

