Book Review: Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris

behind-closed-doorsdivider2synopsis

Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace: he has looks and wealth, she has charm and elegance. You’d like to get to know Grace better. But it’s difficult, because you realize Jack and Grace are never apart. Some might call this true love.

Picture this: a dinner party at their perfect home, the conversation and wine flowing. They appear to be in their element while entertaining. And Grace’s friends are eager to reciprocate with lunch the following week. Grace wants to go, but knows she never will. Her friends call—so why doesn’t Grace ever answer the phone? And how can she cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim?

And why are there bars on one of the bedroom windows?

The perfect marriage? Or the perfect lie?

Credits: Goodreads.com

rating and review

4/5 ⭐s

Okay, I LOVED this book! It was true that I was rather expecting a read that would “scare” me a little bit more than this book did, like literally the way a horror/suspense movie does, but man – this book is TERRIFYING. I swear I am troubled so much while reading this that I can’t put myself to sleep immediately without diverting my thoughts to other happier things. You know why this book is utterly frightening? It’s because it is possible to happen. I don’t wanna make you a little paranoid but can you conduct a background check of your suitor/boyfriend/girlfriend right about now? 😂 Kidding… (or not)

If you’re looking for twists and shockingly unexpected turn of events (*cough* Gone Girl *cough* vibes) then I am afraid you will be disappointed not to find that in this book. It’s not that it doesn’t shock you – it’s just not as surprising as we hope it should be for a book tagged as “suspense” and yet it pulls strings – it’s definitely something. To put it bluntly, it is kinda predictable and yet, I don’t know how the author does that but it’s still greatly intriguing at the same time. It does not exhibit suspense – it gives terror. There was one statement from one of the characters towards the end of probably after 5 or 6 chapters that made my skin prickle so violently I just had to stop reading for awhile to call my boyfriend. Lol.

The choice of characters, the way they act, the way the author lets them be perceived – for me at least, is perfect. I wouldn’t have it any other way. Depending on each and everyone of them, they generate feelings so far contradicting, you can’t help but read more to see how they’ll cope. Some characters break your heart, another makes you think murderous thoughts (grrr), this one you adore, the other annoys the hell out of you. The mix of these people were just so right, you can feature somebody else in your real life to compare with.

The situation the main character was in I must say, terrifies me so much. Although there was not too much physical violence, the thought of being in that kind of situation appears worse than any sharp knife could inflict. It was emotionally, mentally and spiritually draining, I swear I would go mad being in the character’s shoes. There were moments that I say to myself “what the hell, this character should have done this, should have done that” but no man, I must’ve been just as stagnant as the character was if – God forbids – that was me. So you see now how frightening this book is?

The only reason why I can’t give this a perfect 5 star rating is because at some point during the beginning, I felt that it was overly and unnecessarily detailed and slow to get into. It wasn’t the usual bullet train ride I experience when reading a psychological thriller. But it was all worth it as soon as you get past the buffering chapters. Definitely unputdownable! And the ending, I just have to say that though it was simple as it is, I perfectly loved it. 👌 My heart was hammering like crazy on thinking there was still something more to it, whatever though, I was glad it ended the way it did.

So yes, I definitely recommend reading this if you’re keen to read disturbing and terrifying stories that you can read in one sitting – because this one definitely is!

Till next!nikkiPost-Divider

Leave a Reply

