Book Review: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

IMG_6879divider2synopsis

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up—she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily. And the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head. But Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his “no dating” rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan—her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

Credits: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/27362503-it-ends-with-usdivider2rating and review

3.5/5 ⭐s

This book is my first CoHo read that is solo written by her. I have friends who are very big fan of hers so I decided to finally try one of her books and yeah, I started with her latest. 🙈  I’ve heard CoHo’s books are mostly New Adults and to be honest, I’m not a very big reader of this genre. I mean, I am open to it but I do not particularly favor it over other genres.

Anyway, I’d like to say that this book is best experienced when you have ZERO idea about it but if you want to know what I though of it then just keep reading.

This is a story about abusive relationships and how one (either as the abused or the abuser) cope with it. I was lucky enough to read this book with a clean slate because it did surprised me. I know NA books tackle these issues but I wasn’t expecting “that” for my first CoHo read.

Let’s start off with the good things, shall we? First off, the topic is sensitive and I admire the author for tapping a deep and a far from senseless issue. Domestic abuse is real and it happens and what I like about this book is it makes its readers understand what it is not only to be the victim or the abused, and what it is for a person growing up with parents who has an abusive relationship, but also what it is for the abuser themselves. I love that this story made me as a person understand systematically what the abused was thinking inside an abusive relationship. Although I never thought of them as weak individuals – but yes, I admit that I sometimes think it’s stupid for them to stay. This book made me understand why. I kept thinking while reading this book what’s the author’s take on her personal experiences and if it’s related to this story because it was made to be so… real, and yes, so moving – read the author’s note on that one.

I love that in this book, every action had reasons because I personally believe in this. It wasn’t black and white, we also get to see the gray areas and for that, I am hands down praising the author. It gives you realizations on why the person did this, what made them resort to that, what role does one’s own past experiences play on these current incidents and so on.

My favorite part of this book is the friendship that was formed by the main character, Lily, and Allyssa. The latter’s constant light vibe gives this book the much needed breather. Her character (and also her husband’s) is a literal breath of fresh air in an otherwise heavy read – the companionship that they offered is literally heartwarming. They may be a small addition to the book but to me, they made the story dynamic. It showed that people going through these hard times needs a support system – and a good at that one.

This book had parts that made me emotional and I did tear up quite a few times. The lessons were touching me deep down and there are times that I hate to agree and yet I also realize it is the right thing to do.

Now, I’m off to the things I did not like.

First of all, and this happened on the first chapter and I am already freaking annoyed at the insta-attraction going on here. That trope is soooooooo boring me already and not to mention annoying me to bits. You cannot imagine how perfect my eye roll was when I read that part. Haha. One of the things why I am not such a fan of most romance new adult books is because physical involvement escalates rather quickly. I’m not saying all romance NA books are like that, but majority of what I have read (or tried to read) had sex or making out going on at about 15 pages in.

Next, the love triangle. I get that there is a past, and I know it will be relevant as the story progress – what I don’t like is that it appeared so forced – and to be honest, the book would be far greater without it. I just don’t understand WHY do we need to have another guy when we are failing the present relationship. So yeah, as the story moves on I slowly find it annoyingly irrelevant. I get to that point in reading that I was so pissed and I did not like where it is going. Again, another trope that I’m giving a perfect eye roll.

I am sorry but if I’m being honest, there are also times that I hate the main character, Lily. There were instances that I find her so full of herself and it is rubbing me off the wrong way. I admired her dedication, her strength and her staying true to her words but there were just instances which I can’t obviously say because, spoilers 🙊  that made her a bit obnoxious to me.

Lastly, no matter how real this issue is in this world, some things in this book are either just too good to be true or too melodramatic to be real. Yes there were instances that I find the emotions overwhelming me but there were also a few times wherein I thought it’s quite a bit too much for comfort. That is why although I do find it moving and important, I can’t bring myself to completely be in awe about it because there are those parts where I say, “ugh, it’s so fictional”.

But in general, I did appreciate the message of this book and I believe it is something that should be read because first and foremost, it imparts lessons and I think that overweighs every single thing I said I did not like about this book.

So go ahead, read it and I hope you’ll like it. 🙂

Cheers!

nikkiPost-Divider

 

One thought on “Book Review: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

