Book Review: Harry Potter and The Cursed Child

IMG_6878divider2synopsis

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

Credits: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/29056083-harry-potter-and-the-cursed-childdivider2

rating and review

4/5 ⭐s

When it was announced that there will be an 8th book in the Harry Potter series, I felt two things: 1) I was ecstatic and 2) I was terrified. Ecstatic because f*ck this is HARRY POTTER SERIES we are talking about. I have loved every single damn book, I have been emotionally invested in a lot of it’s characters, I would freaking give everything for another glimpse of their life after. But with every bit of excitement I had after finding out it is literally going to happen – I was also f*cking afraid. Afraid it might ruin the story; afraid this story nineteen years later will suck; afraid it won’t live up to my (and the many Potterheads’ out there’s) expectations. So you see, you CAN feel dreadfully anxious and overly excited at the same time. With Harry Potter, IT IS possible.

So I bought the book the day it was released. We didn’t have any midnight releases party or whatever here in our country (which is fine with me, i’m awkward remember?). I started to read the book very late the same night, was so sleepy that I had to stop, but this book can definitely be read and finished in one sitting.

I already know that this isn’t exactly the HP book that I came to be familiar with. It was a script and so it was a totally different reading experience for me (when it comes to HP specifically). Despite the new arrangement though, it was surprisingly very easy to get into. But to be transparent with you, I would have loved it better if it was a novel rather than a script – but screw that thought because this is a PLAY, Nikki! Lol. If you are a fan expecting to read the same intensity the other seven books have given you, then this book probably isn’t for you. What people (including I) should understand is that this is a play, and that it was made that way and that it comes with a different vibe. True that it is hard not to compare because the first seven were our pillars, but really – we shouldn’t.

There was one feeling that stood out when I was reading this piece and it was nothing but nostalgia. It’s like I know these characters personally and missed them and meeting them again here was just so heartwarming – it feels like a reunion with a long lost friend or relative. I wrote on my reading update after I finished this that it wasn’t perfect but it’s what I, as a Potterhead needed. I needed it because I missed them and reading about more of what happened to them warms me to the core. It is nowhere near as magical and mind-blowing as the first seven books. No, this story is not like that – but it was sweet, it was light, cute even, a lot of times funny and some times, a little emotional. It’s a little bit predictable, it made me miss the mind blowing foreshadowing stunt Rowling was doing, but it was okay.

In general, it’s a story of friendship and the odds you have to defy for it. It’s about a boy’s struggle to accept himself for who he was; accepting that he was different and that being different isn’t a bad thing. It’s about finding out that no matter how screwed up the people you relate with from your past was, you could still grow up to be a good person. It shows us that our drive to achieve our ultimate goal can either make or break us.

So yeah, this book didn’t come at par with my love for all the Harry Potter books but I’m glad it was made and it was there. 🙂

What are your thoughts?

Talk to you soon!

Cheers!

nikkiPost-Divider

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Harry Potter and The Cursed Child

  1. I completely agree with you on the script vs novel thing! Although I really enjoyed the play, I did miss the detail that we’re used to reading in the books. I don’t read a lot of plays so it was hard for me to get in the mind set of “this was specifically written as a play”, like it’s not an adaptation. But it was a really fun new way to experience the wizarding world! I thought the Malfoys were SO good in this play, easily two of my favourite characters!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

