Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

IMG_2323divider2synopsis

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Credits to Goodreads.comdivider2rating and review

3.5 / 5 ⭐s

The following review may be a LITTLE SPOILERY for some readers. Read at your own risk.  

This is a story about Feyre, a young woman who is the breadwinner of their struggling family and how she ended up in the Faerie world because she killed one of the faeries’ own.

Okay, so this was somehow a retelling of our favorite story – The Beauty and the Beast. It took me a few more chapters to confirm this because honestly the first chapter is giving me a Hunger Games vibes (minus the worthless father and bitchy sisters). To tell you honestly, I was not a fan of Feyre from the start. I try my best to understand that she needs to do these things for her family as a means for their survival but for her to take it all in and consenting the bitchiness of her sisters and leniency of her father is really rubbing me off the wrong way. I’m like “do something about it fool!” I know, I know, I should be annoyed at the sisters and not at her but I can’t help it. I also don’t know whether to feel sorry for the father or be mad at him – most of the time though, I do pity him.

So she killed a faerie and a beast came to them to seek retribution for what she’d done. I actually expected a different treatment to her as oppose to what had actually happened, so I was initially confused and had my eyes narrowing really small for these parts, haha. That made all sense towards the end though so no questions asked about that and a little thumbs up to the author for quite a good job at foreseeing. I was just thankful that no matter how long it took me to finish this book, I thrived to finish it, otherwise I will forever be bugged as to why such things happened. But you being smarter than I am, may have already figured that out sooner – because hello? Beauty and the Beast retelling? Silly me. 🙈

I like all the characters in this book – all except Feyre. Again, I have issues with her being annoying – like if someone said DO NOT go there – it’s unsafe, DO NOT FREAKING GO THERE. To get by, I tried my very best to see the meaning behind her every action. And fortunately, I do find some of them reasonable. I just couldn’t get myself to like her fully, so Feyre fans – forgive me! Funny thing is I do find similarities between me and her in some ways, so I really question myself about my judgement on this character. 😁

Tamlin on the other hand, I love. I was quite disappointed tho frankly speaking to find out that he’s not really A BEAST. I mean, he can transform, yes. But his “cursed” form only made him wear a mask forever. In which his handsomeness is still pretty visible. But his personality is a win for me. He’s not overly affectionate yet you can still feel his care. Thankfully, I didn’t read another “insta-love” thing in this book. I love how the feeling between Feyre and Tamlin came and developed gradually. Some of their moments really made me smile. A few scenes are really hot that I had to take a break and process it all in. *fans myself* Lol.

Another character that I liked in this book is Lucien. I love how he has an interesting back story and how witty his personality is without being obnoxious. And his appearance always makes the scenes a little lighter which is a very good thing in this story.

I’m still quite half-hearted about Rhysand. I know for a fact that A LOT of people are fangirling over him but I kinda like the relationship between Tamlin and Feyre now so I don’t know how this can go from them to Rhysand and Feyre real quick.😐  His profile is really “something” though. His appearance actually made the book extra interesting.

I love how this book brings me to a world of both wonder and darkness. It was fantasy so it wasn’t really new and unusual to me at all, but to be back in a world like this is something refreshing to my reader soul. I won’t hide the fact though that it took me 3 weeks. 3 LONG WEEKS to finally finish this book so I think this won’t go to the list of my favorite S.J. Maas books, no matter how badly I want it to be there. I love her writing, I do – but I just didn’t feel instantly connected with this one. I was expecting something a little more intense than this. This is exactly what I felt for Throne of Glass so I am not closing my doors on ACOMAF just yet – because hell I like the next TOG books af! Acotar has it’s ups – that’s for sure, but it wasn’t enough to make me eager to dwell on it faster. To be honest that last few parts just seemed rushed to me. I find the beginning a little slow and boring and then suddenly it was fast paced towards the end. The pacing was quite inconsistent that I find myself having a hard time adjusting which results to me always putting it aside.

Nonetheless, I still liked the book, I did enjoy most parts. Not a favorite, but I definitely do not hate it. I’m still not sure whether to continue with ACOMAF now or read something else. 😁

Until next book!

Cheers!

nikkiPost-Divider

4 thoughts on “Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

  1. “I know for a fact that A LOT of people are fangirling over him but I kinda like the relationship between Tamlin and Feyre now so I don’t know how this can go from them to Rhysand and Feyre real quick.”

    YES, I totally get you, I loved loved Tamlin and Feyre together, I mean she killed for him to save him but I’m reading the second book and the characters have changed so much 😨 I actually liked Rhys in the first book but NOT with Feyre, but in the second book omg I hope you get to read it soon! Tamlin is not good here 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

