Book Review: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

IMG_1754divider2synopsis

The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.

But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…

This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.

It wants the truth.

Credits to Goodreads.comdivider2rating and review

5/5 STARS!

So this was a book written for children and yet here I am, a 26 year old woman, left in an overly emotional state after reading it. I don’t think this story should have any age limit or recommendation at all. Come to think of it, some children stories does gives us even more lessons than a book considered to be “age-appropriate” for adult readers.

It is not very often now that I encounter books that gives me this much feels and realizations. I don’t even know how to work out my words on this review. I just felt that this book is really important. It’s like I wanted to get this all out but I wanted YOU to read it and feel it for yourself as well.

To be honest, I thought this book was horror (lol). I really did, I mean, the title and the dark but beautiful illustrations – come on. But then after posting about it on twitter and a few people saying it “moved” them and made them “cry” – well that’s something, is it. I just bought this book yesterday out of the blue and started it in a tea house while waiting for my boyfriend. I was immediately absorbed but I had to pause when he arrived and told myself I’ll read a few more pages tonight – at least that’s what I thought. I READ THE WHOLE THING IN 2 FREAKING HOURS. And cried my eyes out and stared at the ceiling the hour after.

This story is about Conor, a young boy whose mother is sick and all his experiences that got along with it. The dark, moving and interesting metaphor on this book is undeniably relatable that I can’t seem to move on after finishing it. It’s not quite like the usual book we read about people going through a sickness. It’s really something that moved the very heart of me because I’ve felt a very deep connection with Conor. What’s puzzling is despite never having to face all his challenges, it’s quite magical how one can still relate to his character. It was probably because it’s about life, and seeming to lose at life – which at one point or another, we all had our fair share of experiences. I really think the author did an amazing job for this one.

I love the idea of the “monster” and how there were “tales and stories” to be told. I love how it’s real and at the same time it’s fantasy. I loved how this book was never one-sided – that there was good and there was bad and that it could sometimes be both. I loved how even in the simplest of ways, the tales comes with twists. And I ultimately loved how this book ended with the truth. I couldn’t recommend this book enough. This is an unread book to one of my ultimate favorite very, VERY fast.

READ IT!

This book is beautiful. I don’t know how else to describe it.

nikkiPost-Divider

3 thoughts on “Book Review: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

  1. Sooo, I thought this was a horror book too? Which is in part why I didn’t pick it up. I often read at night after everyone else is asleep and horror is not a good option for night time reading. XD But now I want to read it! Really, really want to read it! I think the library even has it. Awesome review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

