Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

IMG_1144

So I am back with yet again another tag! I swear I enjoy doing these sorts of things and get really excited when someone tags me. Speaking of which, thank you to my dear friend, NikkaΒ for tagging me to do this one! I’ll be leaving a link to her post below. πŸ™‚

A little disclaimer that it isn’t my intention for some of you guys to be offended (if you are). And I am in NO DAMN WAY in discouraging you to read the books that I am not a very big fan of. Let us all remember that we have different preferences and let’s not let the judgement of others cloud your perspective of a certain book. It’s always better reading it yourself πŸ™‚

Without any more bla bla blas, let’s get into the tag!

divider2

uo1A lot of you lovedΒ this book but I’m sorry guys. This is just not for me….. It’s FangirlΒ by Rainbow Rowell. I just can’t tolerate the parts of Simon and Baz. It was completely irrelevant and I am so freaking annoyed reading it that I skipped most of those parts. Cath and Levi’s story was otherwise tolerable although I am not a very big fan of their story either.

fangirl-rainbow-rowell-pink

divider2

uo2

Well I wouldn’t say everyone hates this series ’cause I also know some people who loves them but it’s definitely a mixture of good and bad reviews. It’s the Shatter Me trilogy by Tahereh Mafi. This series is actually one of the first few ‘series’ that I read continuously because I couldn’t get enough. The writing style is okay with me and the characters are (for me) really likeable. I also love how each of the characters had their share of great character development.

divider2

uo3

I won’t get a lot of supporters for this one but I am actually Team Jacob in the Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer. It’s not that I don’t like Edward’s character, it’s just that Jacob was there for Bella when all hells break lose. But well, not complaining, I personally think a better character was meant for him and I think I am happy with it.

Edward-Bella-Jacob-twilighters-31600408-500-356

divider2

uo4

I don’t have anything against people who read them but I’m really not comfortable reading Erotica books. I mean the very explicit ones. I’m very okay with a little love making/sex scenes here and there but reading about it on every 5 or less pages is really exhausting. Hahaha. I swear it’s really discomforting for me. I’ve tried reading Fifty Shades (I have a different issue about this tho) and the Beautiful Bastard series and I did not finish both first books. I don’t know why. I am matured enough to read this of course, for God’s sake I’m 26 – but it is really not my thing YET. I’m not closing my doors. I probably haven’t find a good Erotica book yet. Haha.

divider2

uo5

I actually got bashed for this one. Haha, but I remain annoyed. Lol. It’s Tessa Gray from the The Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare. I just read the first book, Clockwork Angel so I can’t really say if I hate this character. But reading about her in the first book pissed me off a little. I really find her annoying. She was so nosy and tends to boss around a little. Not changing my opinion about her on this book but I hope she had a character development on the next two.

divider2

uo6

I think it’s safe to say that I really am not a fan of Lauren Oliver‘s writing style. I read Rooms and Vanishing Girls and both are half baked books for me. Rooms I think is intended to be a thriller/horror but there was not a single scene that I found myself even a little scared. Vanishing Girls on the other hand is supposed to be a psychological thriller/mystery but ugh it’s so damn predictable. I also do not like the way the author describes a situation – it is way overly and unnecessarily worded. I actually sold my Lauren Oliver books and now is greatly skeptical if I’ll ever buy another one of her work.

1f4030e0-771d-0131-c8d4-16d2ba78e828

divider2

uo7

I’d have to say love triangles (or squares, lol). I am quite done reading about a female who meets a young handsome guy and they fell in love, but a few chapters later, another hotter (or sometimes badder) guy gets in the way. That is waaaaaaaaaay overused in YA these days and I am literally tired of reading about it. It seldom happens in real life! Haha. I actually am doing an expressive eye roll everytime I browse in a bookstore and see a damn love triangle in the synopsis. I won’t be getting it unless there’s something else in the blurb that catches my attention.

divider2

uo8

If I really have to answer this one, then it is probably the Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James. It’s not like I have NO INTEREST. I actually was interested before and started it but I am no longer inclined to go on. Not only because it is so erotic, but it also is not in line with my personal moral views which I hope you won’t bash me about. I just think that their “relationship” (if you can call it that) is really kind of abusive even though Anastasia willingly does become the submissive one. I was thinking that the girl is open to this kind of set up because she developed deeper feelings for the boy which makes the whole scenario really more of like one taking advantage of the other. That is just me. I haven’t (and probably wont) finished the series so I cannot really tell whether my initial judgement was true. But yeah. You get my point (hopefully).

FILE- This file combo made of book cover images provided by Vintage Books shows the "Fifty Shades of Grey" trilogy by best-selling author E L James. The heat is on: Sales for E.L. James' "Fifty Shades" trilogy are at 10 million and counting, making it among the fastest-selling series of all time. The explicit sensation has topped charts practically from the moment Vintage Books released it in early April. Reprints have exceeded 900,000 copies in a single day, the publisher announced Tuesday. Totals sales include paperbacks, e-books and audio books. Vintage is a paperback imprint of Random House Inc. (AP Photo/Vintage Books, File)

divider2

uo9

This is really hard. I barely came up with an answer. My choice wont be valid but I’ll explain it tho. I chose The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. I so loved the book and I EQUALLY loved the movie so I guess that counts. That’s a rare event since I always like the books better. ALWAYS. This one though have very minimal changes and omission of scenes in the movie that is why I loved it just as much. So yeah.

fault-in-our-stars-movie-poster-full

divider2

And that’s it! I hope you do not hate me yet for these opinions! Again, I reiterate that this doesn’t mean that I am discouraging you to read these books and support these authors. Go and try them all out for yourself! It’s always nice to have a healthy conversation about why we love and hate a book!

Check outΒ Nikka’s unpopular opinions here!

I’m tagging the following to do this book tag:

Eunice over atΒ https://nerdytalksbookblog.wordpress.com/

Justine over atΒ https://bookwormaniac.wordpress.com/

Brooker over atΒ https://brookebibliophile.wordpress.com/

Until next book tag!

Cheers!

nikki

Post-Divider

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. Erotica is a no-go for me as well! Constant sex scenes are just boring to me, like??? Yay for the characters, I guess, but it does nothing for me, lol.

    Aww, I’m sorry to hear that Lauren Oliver doesn’t appeal to you – I’ve only ever read one of her books (I hadn’t even heard of the two you’ve mentioned), but I adored her debut novel, Before I Fall. Being a sci-fi fan, I really enjoy Groundhog Day stories (all the classic franchises have used this – X-files, Stargate, Star Trek…) and reading it in YA form intrigued me. Not that I’m trying to get you to read it, if you’re not a fan, fair enough!

    But yeah, none of her other books sounded like they were a good fit for me, which is a shame, seems she went a bit downhill after her first novel and tried to cater to the lowest common denominator, perhaps.

    Like

  2. Same! I do not like love triangles either because sometimes it’s so obvious who the MC will end up with. And then you feel simulatenously sorry for the one that gets friend-zoned AND annoyed at the love triangle itself. Lol- or is that just me? The only love triangle I loved was the one in The Infernal Devices. Everyone was happy:)

    Like

  3. I agree with you so much about love triangles. All of them seem to be the same, and are really predictable. I’d like to see a love triangle, say, with two girls and a guy, or with a girl not choosing either of her love interests in the end.

    Like

Leave a Reply

