How I edit my Instagram Photos

IMG_0505

So I recently asked you guys what you want to see on my blog and some of you asked me to write about photography or more specifically “how I edit my Instagram photos”. I actually receive quite a lot of DMs/comments about this specific topic so I might as well do a blog post dedicated to that right now. πŸ™‚

Disclaimer! (lol) I am not an expert photographer so bear with me on this. Hihi

divider2

taking photos

So first up, taking the photos.πŸ“· Most important trick that I could give you is use NATURAL LIGHT (as in sunlight)β˜€! I take my photos when the sun is really up like in mid-mornings, noontime, or mid-afternoon. Each renders different colors/vibes based on my own experience:

  • if you want a blue-y, foggy, delicate look go for mid mornings;
  • if you are eyeing a bright, happy vibe then go for noontime photo shoot;
  • and if you are eyeing a warm, relaxed feel to your photos then go for mid afternoon shoots. πŸ™‚

Next, what works for meΒ to give you guys a good looking photo is PROPS. You see quite a lot of that on my feed. That covers everything from background to little trinkets that will make your photos pop.

I use this background given to dfdf by my boyfriendssss

Background is important because it will give your photos more depth. White background is the safest and probably most popular option because it will make everything in your photo really turn up. I used white background in the past because it matches my older theme. Currently though, I am using this handmade square piece that was given to me by my boyfriend’s sister. I love that the color is still neutral so it won’t clash with whatever props Β I use.

IMG_0497You will notice that one of the mostΒ re-occurring prop on my photo is flowers. I seldom go outside for a photo shoot yet I still want a nature vibe to my photos so I incorporate flowers or plants to my pictures. I use both real and fake plants – whichever is available. πŸ™‚

Other items that will give character to your photos:

Here are some of the items that I use that will make your pictures a tad more interesting;

  • Drinks! (coffee, soda, water, whatever you have!)
  • Food (believe me, it’s eye-catching but make it appear appetizing)
  • Body parts (LOL. before your dirty mind thinks of something green, I mean like hands or a little legs, even hair – it’s also a way for your followers to know who’s behind the photos? I think.)
  • Pets (if you have one, they really make great models!)

Another thing that I suggest is be meticulous with your photos. It takes time but the finished product and your satisfaction is worth it in the end. I’m quite the perfectionist so I usually take A LOT of photos before I come up with one that I will upload. As seen on my VSCO feed:

vsco feed

divider2

photo types

There’s a lot of photo types that you could go for. You may stick to one and make it as your theme or you could try to be diverse and try everything once in a while.

My main type is flat lay. This means that I lay down all my props/items to a flat surface and snap a photo. Others usually use white backgrounds on flat lay but I believe you could do any background just as long as it is – well, flat.

Here’s a sample of a flat lay:

Processed with VSCO with e5 preset Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

Another type that you could go for is a room/place section.Β If you usually take photos on a specific place (like your room) you might have an area or corner that is the most pleasing to the eyes than most. This is probably where your shelf is, or where most of your decors areΒ in place, etc. It is kind of like a feed breather as well especially if you have taken a lot of flat lay pics recently.Β 

Here’s a sample of this type:

Screen Shot 2016-05-15 at 9.04.00 PM

What’s also a pro on this type of photo is it’s effortless. No props needed because, well, the area is decorated already – which means less clutter to re-arrange after photo shoot! πŸ™‚ You can also use this as a background while holding an item whereΒ you want the photo’s focus on.Β 

One last type that I also incorporate in my feed recently is the outdoor pics. I don’t go big on this one since I am really awkward outdoors and I am really shy taking picture outside, but I suggest you try and do it since it is really such aΒ feed fixer!Β If you find your page a little boring, go out there and take adventurous pics!

Here’s my once in a blue moon outdoor photo:

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

divider2

photo editing

For photo editing apps I only use VSCO for the filters and Phonto for my watermark.

editing apps

Here’s a little video to show you how I edit my photos.

P.s. The audio was a little gibberish in the beginning and a little towards the end (I don’t know why) but aside from that, it’s pretty functional.Β lolΒ 

divider2

important reminder

In the end, it’s your account and your feed that we are talking about here. So do the things that will make you most happy. Other will still have a thing or two to say anyway – either positive or negative. So might as well put in your best interests first before anything else. If you feel that your feed is pretty and you’re satisfied with it then just continue what you’re doing. If you feel like there’s something lacking then go ahead and find ways to improve it. It really depends on you!

IMG_0499

And that’s it! I hope you learn something from this and if you have any more suggestions feel free to comment it down below so others can see them as well.

Cheers!

nikki

Post-Divider

14 thoughts on “How I edit my Instagram Photos

  1. This honestly was one of the most full tutorial that I’ve read. Full of Instagram ideas! Great job, Nikki! Thanks for that! Just one question – what fabric do you use as a background on the picture above?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is super helpful – thank you! Your feed is one of my favourites, so I’ve always wanted to know the process behind. I find it hard to get props, but recently I’ve switched up me feed so I have more freedom as to what I can post. I really love flowers in bookstagram pictures too. VSCO saves my life for editing! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for this! I was actually discussing with my husband, who is an amateur photographer, that I’m looking to change up some of my Instagram photos. I realized that I actually don’t have a lot of props. πŸ˜„ I’ve never been a big knick-knack person so it’s difficult for me to come up with an excuse to buy small props to use but I guess I might just have to start small. πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow. That was very helpful. Thank you so much! I loved it. I am obsessed with your feed and I just checked out your blog and oh. my. God girl!!! It’s so cute, and I feel like it’s so you! (Even though I don’t know you that well!! Lol)
    Can I just take a moment to mention, how impressed I was by your “rabbithole” ??!?? AMAZZIIINNNGGG!!❀❀❀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you so much!! What an amazing post! I am obsessed with your feed and I just checked out your blog and oh.my.God girl!!! I freaking love it! I feel like it’s so you (even though I don’t know you quite that well tbh!)
    Can I take a moment to mention how impressed I am with your “rabbithole” ?!? AMAAZZIIINGG!!!!❀❀❀

    Like

Leave a Reply

