Book Review: The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater (2nd Book of The Raven Cycle)

IMG_0527

divider2

synopsis

If you could steal things from dreams, what would you take?

Ronan Lynch has secrets. Some he keeps from others. Some he keeps from himself.

One secret: Ronan can bring things out of his dreams.

And sometimes he’s not the only one who wants those things.

Ronan is one of the raven boys—a group of friends, practically brothers, searching for a dead king named Glendower, who they think is hidden somewhere in the hills by their elite private school, Aglionby Academy. The path to Glendower has long lived as an undercurrent beneath town. But now, like Ronan’s secrets, it is beginning to rise to the surface—changing everything in its wake.

Credits to Goodreads.com

divider2

rating and review

4.5/5 STARS!

After a couple of weeks of being stuck with this book, today is the day I finished it. Lol. Don’t get me wrong, I loved the book! I was just in a slump because of watching too much anime. Haha.

Anyway, on to my review. So this book picked up right where The Raven Boys ended –  with Ronan admitting that he can take things from his dreams. It still took place in the little place called Henrietta as well. Okay, so I told you I already like Ronan in the first book right, but oh God. Ronan in Dream Thieves is freakin’ lovable! It was mainly focused on his side of the story and his relevance with the Cabeswater (the mystical forest where Adam sacrificed himself to wake the ley line). I like how the readers were given extensive background as to what had made Ronan the way he is in Raven Boys. The badass side was still there but we also get to see what made him a friend of someone like Gansey.

My heart is still close to Adam and I can definitely feel for him. Just like Ronan, it is understandable why he acts the way he does. I was so moved by that one part where Gansey and Blue was discussing about how they were both wealthy in love and yet Adam has nothing of it. It was really sad. My heart is breaking for Adam so despite my newfound and strengthened love for Ronan, I still cannot abandon Adam. Lol.

Gansey on the other hand stayed the same. I did not see a lot of character development on his part because his character has probably been worked on too much already even in the first book. I like his character – that is given. I love how he loves his friends unconditionally despite everything that’s been happening. No bad blood about him at all which, to my opinion is a bit boring. No flair, no spark, just the usual shining glory, it kinda hurts my eye (if you know what I mean).

I love Noah’s character and he surprised me in this book. That scene with Blue was so unexpected, I did not see that one coming. It was also really sad though. I just hoped he was given more exposure than that. I miss him in some chapters where I felt he could’ve been given a fair limelight.

**SPOILERS AT THIS POINT! 

One of the reason why I cannot give this a proper 5 star rating because I did not like Blue in this book. I love her in the first one so reading about her here is a bit disappointing to me. I just found her a little self-absorbed in this book and I’m seriously annoyed. I actually pause to gather up patience when the chapters are about her. I loved the part at the earlier chapter when she looked up at Adam and said that she is choosing him and fate cannot do a thing about it. Then, there was suddenly this scene with Kavinsky – like why are you f*cking concerned if he’s not hitting on you?! Oh Lord. I hate girls like this. And although I find that one part with kissing Noah so genuine and so sad, I was literally appalled with Blue there. She was there realizing she has a crush on Gansey and yet she goes on kissing Noah, while still (though not technically) involved with Adam. Whether your kissing a ghost or a bird or whatever, I still find it off. I don’t even like her humor here – it was a bit trying hard for me. I find quite a few scenes where she’s being too bossy and know it all around the boys, it’s probably just me? I don’t know. And that part after the fight with Adam and she called Gansey to take her somewhere. Ugh. It is not because I don’t ship them, I don’t even ship Blue with anyone of the boys (Ronan, get away from her!). I just hope I see a different light in Blue on the third book.

***END OF SPOILERS****

I like the addition of the Gray Man in this book. This is complicated to be honest, I want to like the character but I also cannot forget the things he does/did. But it takes the story to a different level and I appreciate how his appearance involved more of Maura, Calla and Persephone. I even like Orla here too. Haha.

I also have to add that although the foreshadowing in this book is still freaking awesome, I find it a tiny bit slow in pacing. I just find it lacking the excitement it once had in TRB. The interesting things started to happen nearing towards the end and it somehow appeared rushed because of that. But still, the author is a great storyteller, no doubt about that. I love this book, I just liked the first book a little better! Still recommended!

Now off to read Blue Lily, Lily Blue.

Cheers!

nikki Post-Divider

Leave a Reply

