Book Review: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater (1st book of The Raven Cycle)

IMG_0531

divider2

synopsis

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them–until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.

His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul whose emotions range from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She doesn’t believe in true love, and never thought this would be a problem. But as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

Credits to Goodreads.com

divider2

rating and review

5/5 STARSSSSS!

I loved it! I cannot believe that I will, but I did! I actually cannot even believe I bought this boyband-ish cover. I was always skeptical towards buying it because I did not like the vibe it was giving me. Haha

tumblr_mypkqhydIA1rty1ico1_400

But boy, I had a change of hearts, I love seeing the boys on the cover now.

First of all, I find the whole plot line unique and interesting. Okay, who freaking dies when you kiss your true love?

Haven’t seen that since Julliette from The Shatter Me trilogy (which I also loved, but it’s not the same, not even close) so yeah, I was really looking forward to reading this one. This story is more like an urban fantasy, with paranormal, mystery and even ghosts! I love it all the more already.

I love how the author played with the characters. Others will be thinking it’s the same sh*tty group as freaking always,Β and to be freakingΒ honest as well, I was thinking about that too initially (who would not by seeing that cover?).Β tumblr_n2hv9wDCaB1s0uxe3o1_500

(Haha, excuse my F4 gifπŸ˜‚)

But no kidding, the characters are so good! Blue for instance is not the typical teenage heartthrob girl who always needs saving from the bastard effortlessly good-looking rich boys. No. She’s… uhm, well – sensible. Lol. I love how she DOES NOT have a long shiny hair and that she dresses like art. The boys are STRANGELY familiar. It’s real life guys.πŸ˜‚ I think the author knows my closest guy friends (tell me Maggie if you are stalking them, haha). The thing is, my best friend is Gansey, and he’s that one guy who makes others follow him head over heels everywhere without even making an effort to do so. He’s like a magnet. And if others are saying that this only happens in books, well, I’m sorry. IT DOES NOT. He’s that guy who makes sure everything is in order. I’m not developing any feelings for Gansey though, my heart is currentlyΒ all for Adam, I like quiet, shy and smart boys just like that, I find him so adorably charming – too much adjective for saying something cute, I know, i’m sorry. Let me emphasize on the word “currently” though as I have an inkling that Ronan (oh good God Ronan) will MOST LIKELY take Adam’s place in my heart VERY SOON (like NOW?).tumblr_lnsqvim2uR1qhszxqo1_500 Come on, Ronan? who doesn’t fall for that name?πŸ˜‚ Β Seriously though, if that guy’s beenΒ given a little more exposure on this book I would’ve fallen more for him, I just wanted to see more.Β And Noah, oh Noah, he’s there but he’s not but I like it better when he’s there. It’s like having a company that you do not talk with but the presence makes everything comforting. That’s what Noah does – like a friend patting your spiky hair (literally). I also love the psychic friendship of Blue’s mother, Maura with Calla and Persephone. They are all funny in their own way.

It’s told in third person with alternating views which makes it a bit confusing from the start but it gets easier as you progress. I like that the exchanges between the characters are cute and funny without explicitly trying so hard. It’s undeniably relatable and unique at the same time. And I don’t know how much I’ve told you this but I PRAISE authors with the gift of foreseeing! I love it! I love the AHA moment they are giving me when something happens in the previous chapter and I found out about what it meant a few chapters after.tumblr_lta9x7SGws1r0gf7co1_500

I am literally amazed! I’m ecstatic when everything about the book makes perfect sense. I appreciate how the author knows her stuff by leaving out unnecessary details and jump off to what’s what matters. Totally digging that.

a241b2dc-0eb9-4a3c-af6b-d6462df95203

Anyway, it’s not so obvious, why would it be? I do not see why you think I will recommend this. Because I flippin’ DO! Β To everyone! Read it. It surprised me and I’m positive you will be too. Can’t wait to read the rest and hoping gravely that it’s as good as this one! Or better, please.

And lastly, can you forgive me with my koreanovela GIFs? Haha, I am without a doubt entertained, so sorryΒ πŸ˜‚.

Till next book!

Cheers!

nikki Post-Divider

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Book Review: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater (1st book of The Raven Cycle)

  1. I didn’t read the review because I haven’t read the book yet and don’t want to read spoilers, but I just wanted to say….OMG THE KDRAMA GIFS! I LOVE YOU! ❀ ….that is all πŸ™‚

    Like

      1. Oh I wasn’t accusing you of posting spoilers haha I just always figured that reviews have spoilers in them…and I was distracted by the gifs πŸ˜€ what are your favourite kdramas?

        Like

  2. Omg, all your Boys Over Flowers gifs are the best! Now that I think about it, it’s kind of similar… Why did I never notice it before?! I love this series too! I’m so excited and sad for The Raven King!

    On the topic of K-dramas, you should also give “You’re Beautiful”, “The Princess’s Man”; and “The Moon that Embraces the Sun!” All of which are major sob-fests but SO good. ^____^

    Like

  3. *screams* I adore this book so much! I love all the characters. You’re right. They are so real. I love how it feels like the boys have had a long friendship before we come to know them (because they have). And I love Blue. She’s so, uh, sensible. πŸ˜„ I love all the Raven Boys. But my current favorite is Adam. I’m so glad you like him too. Everyone likes Gansey and Gansey is awesome, but Adam is better, okay? Also, I love how the author weaves in those little details, like when Adam moved in with Gansey and Co. he had packed a transformer in a cereal box?! I still remember that. And it’s weirdly realistic. Anyhow, awesome review! (And I do rather like your book cover.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

