Book Review: Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

IMG_0545

divider2

synopsis

Passage, n.

i. A brief section of music composed of a series of notes and flourishes.
ii. A journey by water; a voyage.
iii. The transition from one place to another, across space and time.

In one devastating night, violin prodigy Etta Spencer loses everything she knows and loves. Thrust into an unfamiliar world by a stranger with a dangerous agenda, Etta is certain of only one thing: she has traveled not just miles but years from home. And she’s inherited a legacy she knows nothing about from a family whose existence she’s never heard of. Until now.

Nicholas Carter is content with his life at sea, free from the Ironwoods—a powerful family in the colonies—and the servitude he’s known at their hands. But with the arrival of an unusual passenger on his ship comes the insistent pull of the past that he can’t escape and the family that won’t let him go so easily. Now the Ironwoods are searching for a stolen object of untold value, one they believe only Etta, Nicholas’ passenger, can find. In order to protect her, he must ensure she brings it back to them—whether she wants to or not.

Together, Etta and Nicholas embark on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind by the traveler who will do anything to keep the object out of the Ironwoods’ grasp. But as they get closer to the truth of their search, and the deadly game the Ironwoods are playing, treacherous forces threaten to separate Etta not only from Nicholas but from her path home… forever.

Credits to Goodreads.com

divider2

rating and review

2/5 ⭐s (or can I give it 1.75? No? Okay 2.)

Oh good God. This book took me FOREVER to finish. I just really hate not finishing a book that is why I tried my very best to go on with the dreadful hours of reading it. I was buddy reading this with a friend (IG:@babblingbooks) and thank goodness I was not alone in thinking this book is literally a drag. There was way TOO MUCH HYPE going on about this and I am literally sh*tting my pants on how to come up with a good way on how to say to fans of this book that NO – I DID NOT LIKE IT. Reading it literally feels like work, (and excuse to lovers of this one but) it’s unentertaining, a little annoying and at most times boring.

When I first heard about it and the fact that it is about time traveling, I am immediately interested. The Time Machine and The Time Traveler’s Wife are stories about this premise that I certainly enjoyed a long time ago. So I thought that this one is really gonna wake my long forgotten interest about it. Plus, I saw the GORGEOUS cover (there goes my first star) and that’s it, I’m sold.excited-baby

I hunted this thing down with no luck in every freaking bookstore I could go into, until one day I was lucky enough to get help by a fellow Filipino bookstagrammer and holla, I have it in my hands. And ironically, my thoughts after reading it was “I hoped I’ve bought a different book”.

First of all, I cannot, for the life of me, connect to the main character. She’s like from this present time and yet surprisingly, she’s too adaptable in the 1770s – kind of unbelievable. I thought it would’ve been more interesting if she had made funny mishaps or what not. It doesn’t help that it was told in this eerily formal third person. To be honest, I couldn’t remember any lines delivered by her, and that’s something. I’m a sucker for quotable quotes, you see. But no. No connection AT ALL. One of the things (aside from the time traveling stuff) that interests me here is that the love interest of the main character is of different color – which is REALLY NICE, if you ask me. There’s not so much YA books out there that is embracing diversity in characters so yes, there goes my second star! But the rest is just not for me. The wordings, the narrative, the (freaking a lot of) unnecessary descriptions of clothes, places, feelings -OH GOD. NO. I did skim-read a few parts because I can’t take the overly worded descriptions anymore! It felt like fillers for a 100 paged essay! I’m just not impressed.

best-annoyed-gif-857

Half way and I was so convinced that I will DNF it, but it kinda got me interested again about the hunting of this certain object. But a few more chapters after aaaaaaaand I’m lost again. It could’ve been very interesting to see this places in times when I don’t exists – yet, but the way it was delivered, it was really all too much. I’ll give credit to the author for a well-researched piece, but sorry it was not enough and I was not convinced. HP gif 216

So yes, that’s it. I’m sorry if I have a different opinion about this with the majority of the readers. I guess that’s the beauty of opinions, we’ll have A LOT of room for discussions. 😀

Cheers!

nikki

Post-Divider

8 thoughts on “Book Review: Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

  1. Oh god with such a gorgeous cover and good premise I thought it would be good. But yes, so over hyped its almost ridiculous! Everywhere I looked people are saying it takes literally forever to finish (I’m still wondering how it became so hyped) ;A; great review Nikki, so sad you didn’t like it, it suck when we can’t enjoy a book!!! 😦

    Like

  2. Oh damn!! Because of all the hype over this book I thought it would be a really good book and the cover is absolutely gorgeous! It’s a shame to discover that it may note as good as everyone thought it was but I’m still willing to read it, but I’m going to be very cautious about it. Thanks for the review though!! ☺☺

    Like

  3. lol I felt the same way! I liked it, but I don’t think it lived up to the hype it had around it. I didn’t care for Bracken’s “The Darkest Minds” either so I think I just don’t care for Bracken’s writing. It got interesting for me towards the latter half of the novel, when Etta found out all the stuff about her mother and then meeting her mother… That kept me interested.

    Like

Leave a Reply

