Book Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

IMG_0549

divider2

synopsis

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

Credits to Goodreads.com

divider2

rating and review

4.5/5 ⭐s

…………..

I might still be in my emotional state. You’ve been warned, so do not try to mess with me. I’m a wreck after reading this book. If there is any book that left me utterly heart broken then this is most definitely one of them. I can’t process. I finished the book looking at my ceiling, wondering, “what the hell did I just do to myself” I was perfectly happy and yet at the back of my mind I know the inevitable will happen. And so I was destructed… what I realized though is how matter you expect the worse to happen, it still hit you like a catapult in full speed, yet when it’s closer, it chooses to kill you slowly.. but surely.

tumblr_n9vjtpUMv21smcbm7o1_500

The characters are well thought about. It’s like the main characters, Lou and Will, are the missing puzzle piece to each other’s puzzle. They compliment each other not in the “love at first sight” kind of thing but gradually, in a humorous, adorable and heart breaking kind of way.

I have to disagree with the others when they say this is a romantic story. No it’s not. In fact, I couldn’t barely consider it solely as a love story. It’s a story about self discovery, letting go and moving on with one’s life. The book is undeniably humorous, witty, even the characters are a little annoying and unreasonable and yet this is that book that I cannot bring myself to hate.

What I love about this story is it’s real. It can happen. And it shows the difference one person’s decision can make and it’s impact to the ones involved. I may not arrive at a full hearted agreement to how this book ended because of moral issues (thus the less .5 in my rating) but as a human, I can see where the decision was coming from so again, I cannot bring myself to hate. It’s just so hard, I cannot explain how it played with me feelings, I just… I can’t.

So even when writing this review, I still have that slow painful tears running down my cheeks. I couldn’t forget it that easily. I won’t be letting go that easily. Watching the trailer actually made me even more of a wreck than I already was. 💔

I definitely recommend this to those who haven’t picked it up yet. It’s utterly wonderful.

nikki

Post-Divider

8 thoughts on “Book Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

  1. I need to pick this book up! Just about everyone who has read this has shown just uttermost love for it – GIVE IT TO ME. Sadly, I’ve been spoiled so I know what happens. It sounds so lovely the way you describe it, I’m definitely looking forward to reading it (which will be soon!). BRillaint review 🙂

    Like

  2. I’ve been seeing this book all over Instagram and it’s kinda caught my curiosity. Contemporaries don’t usually work out for me. Also, I’m not big into romance, but what you said about it not really being a romance gave me a more hope that I might like this book.

    Because now I’m super curious and really want to read it! Also, I love the way you review. Short and sweet and non-spoilery. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

