Book Review: Dead Girls Don’t Lie by Jennifer Shaw Wolf

IMG_0552

divider2

synopsis

Rachel died at two a.m . . . Three hours after Skyler kissed me for the first time. Forty-five minutes after she sent me her last text.

Jaycee and Rachel were best friends. But that was before. . .before that terrible night at the old house. Before Rachel shut Jaycee out. Before Jaycee chose Skyler over Rachel. Then Rachel is found dead. The police blame a growing gang problem in their small town, but Jaycee is sure it has to do with that night at the old house. Rachel’s text is the first clue—starting Jaycee on a search that leads to a shocking secret. Rachel’s death was no random crime, and Jaycee must figure out who to trust before she can expose the truth.

Credits to Goodreads.com

divider2

rating and review

2/5 ⭐

Consider me generous with the 2 stars. I really thought I would love this book. Sad to say, this book really put me in a bad mood.

Okay, so it’s 1:00 in the morning and I am righting this review because I cannot put this up until tomorrow (or later). I need to let this go. Let it all out…

This is a story about a girl named Jaycee (which is not a very catchy name if you ask me, I keep forgetting it) – whose bestfriend, Rachel had been murdered. What’s the catch? On the night Rachel was murdered, she was trying so hard to contact Jaycee and warn her, but stupid girl is busy kissing a boy whose brother is really her long time crush. Wait, can I say that again, Rachel was actually an “ex-bestfriend” cause they had a falling out. Reason? A boy. Who? The kisser’s brother. Yeah. Twisted and sounds quite interesting.. At least, that’s what I thought.

First of all, I am not a fan of how this story was worded. I don’t know anything about editing a book but I kind of like assume there are proof readers somewhere. Like, someone pointing out to not use the exact same opening sentence on two consecutive paragraphs: “As soon as I heard the door shut I let out a breath bla bla..” Next paragraph: “As soon as I heard the door shut I opened the bag bla bla”. Seriously, how many times will this certain door shut?

Next, I have never been so infuriated with a protagonist like this before. Forgive me, but she really is stupid. Ugh. Pulling-my-hair-out stupid! If a dead girl tells you not to trust anyone but just a certain person, DO NOT FREAKING TRUST ANYONE YOU DUMB*SS. And seriously, how many times will you lose or willingly give out to someone a clue to finding out who killed your bestfriend. God she was really a pain to read! She was presented as the goody good girl, I get that, but I somehow hoped there would be some kind of like a character development, but NO. Nadah. Na-ah. Not that I’m saying I want her to be bad, I just wanted her not to be dumb! Is that too much?! There are a few moments when she stepped out of her shell but it just looks like a chic wanting to get out of it’s egg when she doesn’t even have her other wing yet. Half baked. Everything about her screams NOT ENOUGH.

The ONLY thing that kept me going is I want to find out who freakin’ killed Rachel. I’ll give credit to the author for doing a pretty good job throwing in the almost non-existent suspense until the end.

These “clues” that Rachel left does not make any sense to me though. I really wanted to like this book, believe me, I did. But for me it appeared as if it tries so hard to be a hardcore mystery but in the end, these little pieces just doesn’t add up at all. Moreover, these stereotypes about religion, racism, and insane amount of teenage gang issues was all just too much for comfort and credibility for this book, it just makes it dull.

Also ****WARNING (a little, probably non-bearing) SPOILER****there was that scene towards the end that implies they saw a ghost of Rachel and I was like…uhm, You.did.not.just.do.that. No. That was wayyyyy too unnecessary. Do not even try jumping off to another genre. No. Don’t. ***END OF SPOILER****

There were good points though, I have to admit. I can’t put it down at first. It was really engaging and the storytelling seems nicer around in the beginning. I just don’t know what happened and it suddenly annoyed the crap out of me. It was trying so hard to give readers a lesson like “listen to your parents; do not disobey them” or “go to church” or  choose your friends” or whatever cliche realizations there is you could think of. I felt that this book was afraid to step up and show a little fang. I’ve seen no edge and it made me a bit sad because that was a really good plot line there. It could have been a better one.  In the end for me, it was that book that I was just relieved it was finally over.   

I may not like this book but it could be your thing so I’m not really telling you not to read it. Those are just my opinions and we all have them so.. no hate 🙂

Till next book!

nikki

Post-Divider

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Dead Girls Don’t Lie by Jennifer Shaw Wolf

Leave a Reply

