Book Review: Winter by Marissa Meyer (4th and final book in The Lunar Chronicles series)

IMG_0564

divider2

synopsis

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

From Goodreads.com

divider2

rating and review

5/5 STARSSSSSS!

Oh gosh! OH MY LUNAR GOSH! This book is awesome! I would not have it any other way! This is exactly how I wanted this series to end! No bad blood for this book, at all!

Like all of the other characters and books in the Lunar Chronicles series, Winter is also an adaptation from a story that our childhood is all so familiar with – Snow White. But what’s interesting about it is that unlike Snow whose skin is – well, snowy white, Winter is dark. And see, that’s what I love about this entire series, it embraces all race.

Winter is such a lovely, funny, charming and not to mention a beautiful person inside and out. I love her crazy antics even though this is considered her “sickness”. It makes her all the more interesting and lovable.

So like Snow White has her Prince Charming, here goes a closer look
6175e6820cf2a5ce1295dec2583ac848at Jacin as well, her childhood friend who is now a royal guard serving Queen Levana. I love how Jacin’s feeling remained for Winter despite what was happening to her. I love that Jacin feels like it’s his utmost responsibility to protect the girl and make her happy.

And I read this one on Goodreads, that if Winter is based on Snow White then the rest of the gang – Cinder, Kai, Scarlet, Wolf, Cress, Thorne and Iko – are the seven dwarves? 407167

What I love more about this book is that every single one of them has been given their fair share of limelight. I missed all them so reading about them in this book made me feel extremely giddy and happy.

Cinder was as awkward as she is but her will and determination shines through in this book. There are times here that I cried a bit because of the realization that she is about to take away what’s rightfully hers. Kai on the other hand remained the charming Asian guy that we all swooned for in the first book.

What Scarlet and Wolf has is unique though – their attachment to each other, the connection. It’s a different kind of love which makes it more interesting. Here we are girls, thinking (and wishing) we could all have our own Wolf who would love us just as much.

My favorite parts are well of course of Cress and Thorne. Stars they Tangled-gif-tangled-17160594-500-230are just so real. I love both their personalities and I can quickly relate
to Cress about being unsure about herself and all that so that’s probably why their story is closer to me than the rest of the characters.

And who could forget the darling android, Iko. I love this gir.. well adroid. But I cannot be blamed, you would never think she is not earthen or lunar all through out the book. Someone as charming and as funny as her could pass for any being there is.

Of course though, this amazing story would not be as gripping as it is if its not for this downright wicked Levana. Oh God, this girl is so evil I was only wishing for her to die the entire read! tumblr_inline_n70qk3H6si1r8b1ta

I was getting emotional though towards the last pages because stars, it’s ending… And I am gonna miss each and everyone. But as I said, this ending is what I have really hoped for.. At least there’s a break from someone dying and me crying in agony for days.. This books just made me cry happy tears and smile like a stupid fangirl the hours after. You could say that it was predictable, but who cares? Who doesn’t want a happy ending after all?

In fact, I cannot get over that easily with all of them that I collected a bunch of pictures in the internet and make this collage:

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 12.12.55 PM
*drawings not work of mine.

I haven’t made one for the boys though, it’s harder to find images that resembles them. Lol.

So yeah, this series is just amazing, if you haven’t read The Lunar Chronicles yet – what the stars are you waiting for?! It’s really amazing. You would definitely love it if you enjoy retellings.

Till next review!

nikkiPost-Divider

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Winter by Marissa Meyer (4th and final book in The Lunar Chronicles series)

Leave a Reply

