Book Review: Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs (Final Book in Miss Peregrine’s Trilogy)

IMG_0607

divider2

synopsisThe adventures that began with Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and continued with Hollow City comes to a thrilling conclusion with Library of Souls.

As the story opens, sixteen-year-old Jacob discovers a powerful new ability, and soon he’s diving through history to rescue his peculiar companions from a heavily guarded fortress. Accompanying Jacob on his journey are Emma Bloom, a girl with fire at her fingertips, and Addison MacHenry, a dog with a nose for sniffing out lost children.

They’ll travel from modern-day London to the labyrinthine alleys of Devil’s Acre, the most wretched slum in all of Victorian England. It’s a place where the fate of peculiar children everywhere will be decided once and for all.

Like its predecessors, Library of Souls blends thrilling fantasy with never-before-published vintage photography.

Credits to Goodreads.com

divider2

rating and review

3.8/5 🌟s 

Okay first of all I do apologize in advance if I will bash Emma Bloom non-stop in this review. If you’ve read my reviews on the first two books in this series, you pretty much now have an idea how I loathe the girl.

Now let’s start. The left surviving peculiar has been yet again abducted along with all the other ymbrynes and Jacob along with Emma will stop at nothing to save them from the evil wights.  Jacob has discovered a new ability and it actually came in handy – just when they needed it the most. I loved the idea how it happened although I would appreciate it much if there was some kind of a background-er on how he came to terms on getting it, other than the obvious fact the his grandfather did have the very same ability as well. But seriously, his ability is superb. Just when you thought his peculiarity seemed so ordinary, it leveled up in the most unexpected way.

I love how in this part, the author handed in a refreshing character in the likes of Addison MacHenry to accompany Jacob other than an undeniably annoying girl, Emma. Can I just say that I did not like at all that this was going in a love story kind of way and I can’t help but roll my eyes at every action and word the author chose for this girl, like kissing Jacob’s hand and telling how miraculous he is – oh for bird’s sake girl, shut up! (sorry). Anyway, as I was saying, I am really glad that there we have Addision to bring life to an otherwise cheesy scenario. Dog saved the day!

The setting primarily happened in Devil’s Acre which pretty much houses every banished peculiar and trapped normals there is where life – true to it’s name –  is all like that of a living hell. The addition of new characters in the forms of Sharon, the boatman, Bentham, the dude with zero luck, Mother Dust who is surprisingly creepy are all but a great installment to what more in story lies ahead.

To be honest I am so close to not finishing the book at all ’cause it didn’t appeal to me much more than how the first two books did. Halfway though, the story started making sense. Don’t you love that special moment wherein the book’s title finally made sense?! Well yeah, it gets interesting as it progresses though I had to note that there are some inconsistencies with the first two books’  premise regarding the hollowgasts and wights’ true intentions.  I felt that the excuse for it being mismatched was rushed in a way that it was just said to be a “nonsense excuse”. I felt that the author changed mind about it midway. But still, it made more sense so I guess still a job well done.

Some of the scenes are just so good for myself to be appreciated, it’s not like I want deaths to happen but somehow, it made the story too predictable for me.  Although I really appreciate how the author tried to be diverse as possible in the story because a fantasy story like this have so much to offer. The panloopticon thing is a genius idea and to be honest it made me think of the Monsters, Inc. movie the entire freaking time! 😂

I am expecting more from Jacob though towards the “battle” but I guess he was given so much appearance and heroic stunts already in the previous chapters that even the author is tired for him already. I do not like the obvious fact though that Emma is always in the picture. Like I get it, they are being partnered so some people will ship them but I’m really not interested with the love story they are so everly building, nope, nah, not for me.

I am totally loving the choice that Jacob made in the end because that is the most plausible thing to do. Although of course, it will not be just as easy. As a result, things happen that it actually appeared to be kind of comedic in a way (like watching Sabrina the teenage witch or something) and it was Jacob and Emma’s love story all over again. So yeah, the way how it ended was quite off putting for me.

I have to say though that the collection of vintage photos here are much more interesting than the second book. 😂

Given my review you might have probably guessed that this final book was my least favorite out of the three. It’s not that it isn’t good, I am so sure children to middle grade and probably a lot of young adults would most likely love the story too, I did though not as much.

Have you read it? Any thoughts we are the same and we differ? Let me know in the comments so we can discuss! 😂

Cheerios!

nikki

Post-Divider

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs (Final Book in Miss Peregrine’s Trilogy)

Leave a Reply

