Book Review: The Whispers of the Fallen 🌠 by J.D. Netto

IMG_0613

I was given an epub copy of this in exchange for an honest review. So here’s what can I say about this piece, but first let’s hear what this book is all about.

divider2

synopsis

Ever since the dawn of days, rumors about the Diary of Lucifer echoed throughout Elysium. Hidden from all human knowledge, the Diary was kept a secret, locked away in the small village of Agalmath.

Isaac and Demetre find themselves in a dangerous journey as they uncover the truth about the Diary and those who guarded it for all these years. However, for Isaac and Demetre, danger lies at every step, hidden in the most unexpected places.

Hunted by the Nephilins and the Fallen Stars, they must find others who will join them in the battle against the coming darkness.

Synopsis from Goodreads

divider2

rating and review

3.7/5 ⭐s
This is a book about the fight between good and evil. And what better way to represent this clash if not showing the Creator (God) and Lucifer. I was actually interested on the  premise of the book because although it’s not something new, it is something that I have historically enjoyed reading.

The book itself is very fast paced and action packed. No dull moment at all through out the entirety of the book. Every chapter contains important details that you shouldn’t miss on the story.

The characters are a combination of lovable to loathe-able beings. Isaac the lead character is a so-so for me – I do not exactly like him but I I don’t hate him either, it’s just that his role is obviously vital for the entire world building of this book.  I particularly liked Devin for fighting his nature and remaining true to his virtues. I feel so sad about Demetre for not having a choice and for Adawnas for having a choice but still against her will. Nephele is a character I hate, consistent Nephilin *itch! (haha, sorry). Although I am captivated by her undeniable beauty, it does not add up to my interest in killing her all the more. 😂

The setting does not limit itself to a few, it actually jumps from one to another and you really have to have good imagination to keep up. It’s stimulating and taunting all at the same time.

I also love the way the author have exchanged POVs towards the end. That for me is a swift move and I would not have it any other way.

The points for improvement that I would definitely like to note (and I hope have been established in the next books) are the following: First, the dialogues are not realistic. They are so formal I can’t help but cringe at the words, I don’t particularly think that any 17 year olds (Demetre and Isaac) will be delivering these lines so I find it hard to be somewhat believable. Second – although I love fast paced stories, this one has just about too much of it. There are certain scenarios when you have to look back at what happened and to be completely honest, I find it hard to do that here. I found myself saying “did I completely missed that part? have I skipped that scene?”, etc..My third and final point is – it lacks emotion. Yep. I am for once baffled at how stiff the lead character is *SPOILER* imagine losing his parents and bestfriend his whole life and yet I cannot feel any grief *END OF SPOILER* Yes it was mentioned he cried and sobbed or something like that but I cannot connect to the character. I also feel this towards Devin but not as weak as it was for Isaac. Surprisingly, I feel the emotion more from Adawnas. 😦 Those are my reasons for such rating. It would have been an easy 4/5 if it weren’t for these factors that I have noted. 🙂

Overall it was a one of a kind read and I will recommend this to people who are fond of Angels and demons and all those sorts of stuff. Kudos to the author! 👍

nikkiPost-Divider

One thought on “Book Review: The Whispers of the Fallen 🌠 by J.D. Netto

Leave a Reply

