Journaling: For Starters Part 2 πŸ“

IMG_0701

And I am off to Part 2 of my Journaling tips! ✌

So how do we start with the Journal? First of all, what is journaling? It is basically synonymous to keeping a diary. For once, I think we have all made a friend with the first notebook we fell in love with and wrote personal letters which often starts with “Dear Diary..”.Β While diary I believe is much more personal in nature, Journal is something of general context of what’s been happening with your life in a chronological order – which at some point, is something that can be shared (just like what I do with Instagram).

Here are a few tips I can share with you that hopefully you will find useful and inspiring.Β πŸ’«

Tip No. 1: Don’t be afraid to fail. Allow yourself to be a newbie on this Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 presetjourney – cause really, nobody started out to be an extravagantly wonderful journal maker. We all start from somewhere tinkering with papers and pens and other stuffs. I for myself think that i still have a lot to learn, and I am always looking forward to that.

Try to make your failures and mistakes be a start of something new and even better. Take this one entry here forΒ instance, I tried to draw a movie ticket and a popcorn BUT i think I failed miserably (smudges and blobs of paint and all, you will really not recognize) πŸ˜‚ I was in a particularly good mood during that time so nothing can stop me from journaling my night, so I decided to use the real movie tickets instead and tape them on to my journal. It makes it even more memorable, if you’ll ask me. πŸ™‚page divider

Tip No. 2:Β When journaling, keep in mind that you DO NOT NEED to Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 presetwrite every single details that happens to you the entire day. What I do is, I pick the most memorable ones, (the one that I still want to remember vividly when I try to look back) and group them chronologically. I usually stick to at least 3 to 4 parts of the day like this entry over here. πŸ‘‰ Β Β I put titles to it so it will give emphasis to the highlights of my day. It will also bring life to an Β otherwise wordly journal.page divider

Tip No. 3:Β Draw! Yes.. even if it scares you, even if you know you’re nowhere near good at it. Draw! There is google to look up for inspiration.

 

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 presetΒ  You can probably see that my angel and dog drawing is not very nice in this entry but still it made my journal look even more livelier. πŸ˜€ It’s up to you how you see your journal and even how horrible it looks like in the beginning, feel the need to love it. Love what you do and others will appreciate your craft in the end. πŸ™‚

page divider

Tip No. 4:Β Experiment with papers. Yes, I love doing this part!Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset I don’t just solely rely on my journal or notebook’s pages. I get scrap papers, pages from old books, magazines or whatever I could find and use them as background. I use this technique when I want to highlight a certain event or Β simple moment worth remembering that happened for the day.

page divider

Tip No. 5:Β Do not force yourself into writing a journal entry EVERY. SINGLE. DAY. Although it would be nice to keep a summary of how your day went each and every day, it is just not that realistic to actually document them 365 days a year. There are times that you are not feeling very creative and you have that feeling that you might ruin your journal. Listen to it. I call that a “journaler’s block” (i completely made that up)Β πŸ˜‚page divider

Tip No. 6:Β Following tip No. 5, it’so common the journals are all about what happens to your day, how it went, what’s interesting so far, etc. But on my journal, I don’t strictly follow that line. I have entries that are not entirely about how my day went. I call them “Thoughts”. Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 presetΒ These entries are just random things that I am thinking about that I want to express through crafting.Β See this one over hereΒ πŸ‘‰ I’ve been so inspired that time to write about my love for travelling, and so I did. I am certainly up for journals which contains random thoughts and ideas too. You can craft about your love for reading and books, your passion for music, your love for your family and your inspiration – whatever you can express, will do fine.Β Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

This one right here is another example of my Thoughts entry, I just woke up suddenly feeling more inspired that I’m with my special someone (haha, skip that cheesy part over there πŸ™ˆ) so I devoted an entire page to craft away, just for himΒ πŸ’•

page divider

Tip No. 7:Β DO NOT compare your journal from other’s journals.Β So really, we all have different styles and all we need to do is find out what fits us the most, and where we are most comfortable at. I, for my part are more of an elaborated journal-er (er, if there’s such a word πŸ™ˆ). Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 presetI put on splashes of everything I could find, but you can be a minimalist for all you know – you might be more attracted and comfortable to something simpler than what I am putting up. Which is totally OKAY. Haven’t I mentioned that you need to love your craft in order for somebody else to love it as well? You have to acknowledge the fact that there are TONS of other makers out there and our talents – although it varies, our goal is one and the same, to craft the world away. πŸ™‚page divider

So there you have it guys! My little tips for you to start your journaling journey. I hope it will encourage you enough to finally give it a try. Let me know if you have any questions down below and I will get to it as soon as I can.

Until the next, cheers!

nikki

Post-Divider

6 thoughts on “Journaling: For Starters Part 2 πŸ“

Leave a Reply

