October TBR Pile! (Halloween Reads) 🎃

Okay, I know.. I just said that I almost ALWAYS break TBR lists, but I’d like to prove myself wrong just this time. 😀

So yeah, I am gathering my To-Be-Read pile for the month of October.

octo tbrFirst up on my list are Harry Potter books III and IV (Prisoner of Azkaban and The Goblet of Fire). This is for the read-a-long that I will be joining hosted by @littlebookowl75 (check her out on Instagram). I really wanted to join this read-a-long so I can go on already with the Harry Potter series. I’ve read books 1 and 2 earlier this year and book 3 has been on my TBR for so long. I think now’s the time to finally reconcile with Harry. 😀

The rest of the books that will be featured on this blog posts are all for my Halloween reading – I love creepy reads! 👻

Next on my list is In the Shadows of Blackbirds by Cat Winters. Here’s a little synopsis from good friend, Goodreads (cause I’m too lazy right now to create my own words) 😀 inthe shadow

In 1918, the world seems on the verge of apocalypse. Americans roam the streets in gauze masks to ward off the deadly Spanish influenza, and the government ships young men to the front lines of a brutal war, creating an atmosphere of fear and confusion. Sixteen-year-old Mary Shelley Black watches as desperate mourners flock to séances and spirit photographers for comfort, but she herself has never believed in ghosts. During her bleakest moment, however, she’s forced to rethink her entire way of looking at life and death, for her first love—a boy who died in battle—returns in spirit form. But what does he want from her?

Featuring haunting archival early-twentieth-century photographs, this is a tense, romantic story set in a past that is eerily like our own time.

Interesting right?! And I so love books with pictures in them, moreover if they are creepy! Haha, i’m weird like that. 😀

dead girls dontNext is Dead Girls Don’t Lie by Jennifer Shaw Wolf. I don’t really think this is a creepy read like in a scary sense or something, but this is kind of a mystery, thriller in genre which creeps me out a little too when I’m reading. So again, from my mega good friend, Goodreads, here’s the synopsis:

Rachel died at two a.m . . . Three hours after Skyler kissed me for the first time. Forty-five minutes after she sent me her last text.

Jaycee and Rachel were best friends. But that was before. . .before that terrible night at the old house. Before Rachel shut Jaycee out. Before Jaycee chose Skyler over Rachel. Then Rachel is found dead. The police blame a growing gang problem in their small town, but Jaycee is sure it has to do with that night at the old house. Rachel’s text is the first clue—starting Jaycee on a search that leads to a shocking secret. Rachel’s death was no random crime, and Jaycee must figure out who to trust before she can expose the truth.

In the follow-up to her powerful debut, Jennifer Shaw Wolf keeps readers on their toes in another dark, romantic story of murder and secrets.

Following my Halloween reads is the most anticipated Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs. This is the third and final (? I think) book of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – which if you haven’t read yet – is amazeballs! These books also features a collection of real vintage and creepy photos that is sooo helpful to the story itself. I have so much love for this series ’cause this is what somehow brought me back to reading. I won’t provide any synopsis for Library of Souls so I won’t accidentally spoil you, but here’s one from the first book:

missA mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography,Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows. 

I really need to re-read though Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and Hollow City cause I have forgotten most of the details already 😀

And the last on my Halloween reads is The Whispers of the Fallen series whispersby J.D. Netto. I have been given free e-books of the entire trilogy (the last which will be released this month) in exchange for honest reviews. So excited to get to it! I just hope I can finish the entire series within this month as well 🙂

Here’s the synopsis for the first book in the series:

Ever since the dawn of days, rumors about the Diary of Lucifer echoed throughout Elysium. Hidden from all human knowledge, the Diary was kept a secret, locked away in the small village of Agalmath.

Isaac and Demetre find themselves in a dangerous journey as they uncover the truth about the Diary and those who guarded it for all these years. However, for Isaac and Demetre, danger lies at every step, hidden in the most unexpected places.

Hunted by the Nephilins and the Fallen Stars, they must find others who will join them in the battle against the coming darkness.

Intriguing and no doubt creepy as hell (well ’cause we’re talking about Lucifer here, hello??) 😀

So that’s it for my October/Halloween Reads. Please leave a comment if you want to read any of the mentioned books with me. Just be warned though that I’m a slow reader, and I don’t wanna drag you with my turtleness. XD This tbr is actually quite ambitious but we’ll see. 🙂

Till the next, cheers! :*

emb

One thought on “October TBR Pile! (Halloween Reads) 🎃

Leave a Reply

